Category Archives: indie

Give Up –  Bilk (reviewed by Dave Franklin)

Bloke rock! That’s the term I reckon. From The Who to The Jam and from The Sweeney to The Streets, young, working class lads with an eye to fashion, coolness and musical history have picked up instruments and told us … Continue reading

Posted in indie, rock, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Paper Cranes –  Cherry Coloured (reviewed by Dave Franklin)

The wonderful Cherry Coloured is back with a song which blends the usual dreamy, ambient soundscaping with something slightly more driven, slightly more tangible. Without abandoning the washed ambience and tentative tones, Paper Cranes is instead built on a throbbing, … Continue reading

Posted in ambient, dream-pop, indie, indie-pop, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Blackburn Boulevard  – Echoglass (reviewed by Dave Franklin)

If my first encounter with Echoglass caught their more thoughtful and mellow side with the slow burning and highly textural music of Drowning, Blackburn Boulevard sees them in more playful mood, musically anyway. Here, the medium is a sassy, indie … Continue reading

Posted in indie, indie-pop, pop, Uncategorized | Tagged | 1 Comment

Swimsuit Issue debut video for Look Now

Following their first headlining dates of 2018, Swimsuit Issue debut their official video for their single “Look Now”. Watch the band’s self-directed clip below. Swimsuit Issue is a seven-person American rock band fronted by model Miles Garber and David Gagliardi, who also … Continue reading

Posted in alt-rock, indie, rock, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Scene and Heard – CCLVII  : Fishing Line 1000 Miles Deep –  StrangeJuice (reviewed by Dave Franklin)

The fact that the man at the heart of StrangeJuice has earned himself the title of “The Picasso of the Australian independent music industry” actually makes a lot of sense after listening to and indeed watching the video for the … Continue reading

Posted in alt-folk, alt-pop, folk, indie, indie-folk, indie-pop, pop, Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Ryan Vail announces new album and tour dates

Celebrated genre-defier Ryan Vail is returning this April with his anticipated new album ‘Distorted Shadows’, a call for art, soul and self-belief during difficult times. The music is informed by generations of electronic pioneers and reveals an interest in classical … Continue reading

Posted in electronica, indie, tour, tour dates, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Haneen – Brickwork Lizards (reviewed by Sarah Ryan)

Having watched Brickwork Lizards at Wychwood Festival in 2017, I can say, honestly and without doubt, that they are one of the most imaginative, inventive, and musically intoxicating bands I have ever encountered. Stumbling upon this creative concoction of a … Continue reading

Posted in arabesque, contemporary jazz, indie, Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

David Dimbleby – The Amber Bugs (reviewed by Dave Franklin)

The Amber Bugs don’t care about sticking to musical genres, stylistic demarkations, current trends or what any of you lot out there think of them! The Amber Bugs just throw all their favourite sounds into the mixing pot and then … Continue reading

Posted in indie, ska/rock steady, Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

Two Paths (Greatest Hits & Rare Cuts 2012 -2015)  –  The Illustrations (reviewed by Dave Franklin)

In a bigger story The Illustrations would be that mythical band that everyone pretends they were into and trade anecdotes about in a real “Pistols play The Lesser Free Trade Hall sort of way.” If either of its main protagonists … Continue reading

Posted in indie, indie-pop, Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

Scene and Heard – CCXXXIV : What You Make of It – The Sad Song Co. (reviewed by Dave Franklin)

Ahead of his forthcoming album, Worth, due out early February, The Sad Song Co. aka Nigel Powell has released a brilliant animated lyric video for the track What You make of It, which is also available as a free download … Continue reading

Posted in alt-pop, indie, indie-folk, indie-pop, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment